Bachelor of Divinity


The Bachelor of Divinity introduces graduate students, in a systematic manner, to the classical discipline of theology, as a means of preparing men and women for well-informed participation in the life of the church and, if students so choose, for ministry in one or more areas of pastoral practice.

The course includes studies in the Bible, theology, and ministry and practice, and may include supervised practice-based learning, where appropriate.

See the ACT website for the full list of course learning outcomes.

Entry Requirements
  • Previous Qualifications: Successful completion of a Non-theological bachelor degree or equivalent; OR
  • Language Qualifications for NESB: IELTS 6.5 overall with minimum of 6.0 in each subtest OR 10 years in Australia with English being the language primarily spoken both at home and work.
Study Pathway

Further study pathways could include Grad Cert Div; Grad Dip Div; MTS (with advanced standing); BMin (Hons) or BTh (Hons) (assuming the required GPA is achieved)

Career Options

The Bachelor of Divinity has been devised for men and women who have already completed a degree in another discipline but do not want to study at graduate/masters level. Morling is the accrediting college for Baptist ministers in NSW and ACT, and the Bachelor of Divinity is recommended for those who wish to become an accredited Baptist Pastor

Credit Points

24 units (288 credit points) at AQF level 6 and above, including a minimum of 12 units (144 credit points) at level 7 or above.

Course Duration

3 years minimum, 9 years maximum.

Study Modes

Units are available both on-campus and online.

Campuses this course is delivered at:

Sydney Campus & Perth Campus

Course Structure

OT001 & OT002   
(OR OT003 & BB003)
Old Testament Introduction 24
NT001 & NT002
(OR NT003 & BB003)
New Testament Introduction 24
CH Church History 24
TH Theology 24
OT OT exegesis 12
NT NT exegesis 12
EM/PC/DM Ministry & Practice (min 24 cps at level 7) 24*
  Electives from any field 144

Units in this course are completed at Level 6 and above, including at least 12 units (144 credit points) at level 7.

This is a course of the Australian College of Theology.